Google – the best time waster!

The moment a child is born, the mother is also born.  She never existed before.  The woman existed, but the mother, never.  A mother is something absolutely new.  ~Rajneesh

You know how you are googling something specific.  You are really trying to find an answer to something……and you click on one link to find something totally different and that starts a whole tangent of searching?  This happens to me ALL.OF.THE.TIME!  Daily.

I don’t even remember what I started out googling to eventually get to the topic “conversation starters”.  But I got there…..and now I have a *huge* list of blog topics.  See – it was got the greater good that I got lost on Google. 🙂  This, besides the blog challenge.  I’ll never have to think about it again! 🙂

Anyway.  So……the question of the day…….Can you describe the moment when you saw your child for the first time?

9/26/2002

Meeting Boobs came hours after he was born.  I was scheduled for a c-section on 9/25/2002 because my doctor was on call that day.  It was only 5 days early so I was ready.  SO ready.  Also – we were about to be in the middle of a tropical storm.  So we headed to the hospital, through heavy rain and huge puddles.  I was induced around 6pm.  The doctor broke my water around 10am the next day and then told me that he thought it’d have to be a c-section.  I didn’t care – I’m just ready.  Get this kid out of me!

While the birth experience didn’t go as planned (my epidural wore off too early and I had to be knocked out)…..look what I got!!!!  Boobs was born around 1pm and I finally got to meet him around 6pm.  He was gorgeous.  And big!  9lbs!  He was pink, with a red face and long fingers.  I was scared.  I remember that clearly.  This little guy depended on us completely….and I was scared.  But I fell in love a millisecond after getting my arms around him.  Funny how your heart can latch onto someone so fast.  But it does and only for a child.  Best feeling in the world!

11/1/2006

Moo was born 3 1/2 weeks early and on my birthday.  Not only my birthday but my niece’s birthday as well.  My Dad keep saying throughout my pregnancy that she would be born then but I through he was crazy because it was so early.  But there I was, being told by the doctor that I was going to have the baby today.

Halloween 2006 was like any other, with the exception of me being pregnant and unable to walk around with Boobs because I was on modified bedrest.  I felt good though.  Get home, go to bed.  I wake up around 2am to go to the bathroom and see that there is blood.  And a lot of it!  So we rush to the hospital (this is the third visit for bleeding issues) and the doctor takes one look and announces my child’s birth day.  It’s be by c-section (which is what we were planning for anyway.  This time, I was given the choice of being awake for it…or being knocked out.  I jumped at the chance to get to see my baby right away and stayed awake.

Seeing her precious face was amazing!  A baby girl.  Our baby girl!!  She had to be rushed out to be checked and be put on oxygen so I only got to see her a minute.  After some recovery, I was able to be rolled down to the special nursery to see her.  She was so tiny.  After Boobs who was 9 lbs, Moo was a petite almost 7 lbs.  She had a good amount of jet black hair and a little pink face.  I cried when I saw her – she was gorgeous.  I knew that I loved her…and was amazed how my heart just opened up and let her in.

A mother’s fear is that you won’t be able to love both kids the same.  You love your first so much that you can’t possibly imagine loving another the same way.  How can you?  But that fear was laid to rest for me when I saw Moo’s little nose.

I have two kids who are different in small ways but really, a lot alike.  I love them equally and beyond what I ever thought was possible.  My whole life is bound in these two little bodies.  I am thankful that God allowed me to to know these precious beings and that I was chosen to guide them and watch over them through their lives.  I only hope I can do right by them.

God could not be everywhere, so he created mothers.  ~Jewish Proverb

2 thoughts on “Google – the best time waster!

Tell me what you think!

