Day 07 – Your best friend

“A real friend is one who walks in when the rest of the world walks out.”  – Anon

At the original Starbucks – Seattle, 2010



How do you define your best friend?  Someone who knows everything about you?  Or who stands by you 100%?  A person who is a confidante?  The person you can’t wait to hang out with or who you trust with everything?

Mine is all of that.  Shelloy is beyond all of that…..she is my family.  My sister.  I honestly do not know what I would do without her support, her encouragement, her humor.  I do know that, no matter what, if I need her, she will be there.  And I am for her.  100%, 24/7.

Shelloy and I met in 10th grade.  We were in the same homeroom class.  I was in my seat first….she came in (in her sheep sweater LOL) after and sat down behind me.  Of all the empty seats in the class, she sat behind me.  Now, in high school, I was beyond shy.  We had moved around a lot when I was a kid and I’d been to a lot of different schools.  But I didn’t want to sit by myself at lunch.  So I turned around to Shelloy and asked if she wanted to eat lunch together.  And we did.  For the rest of high school. 

What is funny about us is that we were both new to the school.  I had just moved from Memphis, TN and she had just moved from Missoula, MT.  Here we were, the two new kids connecting.

She has seen me through boyfriends, heartbreaks, good times, bad times.  A move away from home, a marriage, children, a move home.  Sickness, depression, unemployment.  She is encouraging, positive, funny.  She is very busy with her own life but always checks in to see how we are doing.  And she loves my kids like her own.

Shelloy is a amazing mother to my Poedee boy.  He was born with almost impossible circumstances and he made it through all of that with the love and devotion of his mother (and father).  Shelloy is beyond devoted to give Poedee a normal, happy life and she is succeeding with every turn.

She is a devoted wife.  Her husband came into her life many, many years ago and they are still happy and loving.

She is a devoted employee – maybe too devoted if you ask me. 🙂  She is a hard worker and her employer is very very lucky to have someone like her in their employ.

For 20 years, I have been lucky to call her my BFF, my sister.  My kids call her TiTi.  I can’t describe how much I love her.

Thank you Shelloy!

“If you should die before me, ask if you can bring a  friend.” – Stone Temple Pilots

“A true friend is someone who knows there’s something wrong even when you have the biggest smile on your face.”

“When it hurts to look back, and you’re scared to look ahead, you can look beside you and your best friend will be there.”

3 thoughts on “Day 07 – Your best friend

  1. Not sure how I can type through the tears! I adore you! And thanks for calling out the sheep sweater, miss pleated skirt…what did I think of you…oh yeah, bookworm! LOL Man we've been through a lot and I cannot wait to see what this year holds for us. I am honored to be your best friend and a part of your family as I am to have you for mine and of mine!!! I love you, Ed!!!

Tell me what you think!

