Hi folks.

It’s been about what…a week?  Since I’ve started this stay at home Mom gig, I find I have less time.  How is that??  More kid time, less computer time.  But today is not a Dereck work day so….I thought I might take a minute to visit.

And since family has been up and center lately……that makes a good blog topic.

Talk about your family

I have a great, wonderful, amazing family!!!  We are all very close and we would do anything for each other. It’s no question what we are doing for the holidays.  We spend every birthday together, every holiday, every celebration. 

Perfect right?

I’ve got a husband who is beyond words.  He takes care of me.  He loves me unconditionally and completely.  He is uber smart, he’s uber funny and keeps me laughing through good and bad times.  He is 100% supportive, even if the idea is not so easy to supportive.  *sigh*  I could go on forever.

I’ve got two kids who are my life, my love, my entire heart. 

My Dad is strong, sarcastic, loyal, supportive.  My Mom is emotional, quiet, loving, funny.  While I may not look like either (who disagrees?), I know that I act like both.  I’ve also got a Step-Dad (who isn’t my step-dad technically as he and my Mom aren’t married anymore but he is my family and he is still Grandpa Steve to the kids) who is hilarious, talented, smart.  I’ve got two step-sisters who are adventurous, gorgeous and fun!  I have a brother who is hard working, stubborn and looks like me (what could be better?  lol).  I’ve got a sister-in-law who is patient, humorous, intelligent.  A niece and nephew who are rowdy and loving and smart!!!!  I’ve got one set of grandparents who are loving and forgiving and one set of grandparents who challenged me.  One aunt who understand me completely, one aunt and uncle who love unconditionally, an aunt who is creative and uncle and aunt who make me smile.  I’ve got some pretty freaking awesome cousins who live all over the west coast.

I’ve got a fantastic in-law family.  A sister who amazes me with her strength and honesty, 5 brothers, a bazillion nieces and nephews.  A father-in-law who is exactly what you expect him to be – there is no surprises with him which is refreshing.  A mother-in-law (RIP) who was my best friend for months when I was new to a city and knew no one.  She seriously kept me sane with her humor and love.  And damn, she was nosey!  She definitely kept everyone up to date on the happenings in the neighborhood.

I’ve got a BFF who is my sister in every sense of the word (minus that pesky “being born to the same woman” thing).  She and her family and more than just “friends”. 

We recently has some bad news about my godfather and it’s made me realize that I need to make sure that my family knows just how important they are to me.  So that is a goal….something to work on.

Now – I’m off to a girly day with my Princess. 

When you look at your life, the greatest happinesses are family happinesses.  ~Joyce Brothers

One thought on “

Tell me what you think!

