Don’t Judge a Book by It’s Jacket Cover…or Genre

If you don’t like books – I suggest you skip this blog post.  🙂

As some of you may know, I like to read.  I really like to read.  I used to limit my reading to contain certain parameters…….it had to have some sort of romance and it had to be historical.  That really left me to historical romances.  haha  Not sure when I broadened my horizons but now I will read just about anything.  I still love a good bodice ripping romance though.  Right now, I find myself reading a lot of paranormal romances and young adult books.  Hey!  Don’t judge the genre.  Most of the YA books I’ve been reading probably should be categorized to the adult section!  I’m scare for when Moo is ready to read.  lol

Anyway.  A couple of years ago, I was reading a message board about a group that had one goal – to read 50 books in a year.  Easy, I thought to myself.  I could totally do that.  So I did.

I started on my birthday, November 1, 2007.  I actually started this project with my niece because I thought it would be a good way to get her to read more.  Every year on my birthday, I start over.  The first year I only read 37 books.  The next year, 94 books and the third year 55 books.  This is my fourth year….and I am more than half way there already.

I have read some really REALLY awesome stuff, some really bad stuff and a lot in between.  I was a member of a book club at one time and that really opened me up to some books that I would never have picked up myself.  And I have told myself I was going to read every Nora Roberts book that is still in print.  Yeah – that is going to take a while.

Some highlights of the past four years:

1.  Lamb: The Gospel According to Biff, Christ’s Childhood Pal by Christopher Moore

This is a freaking funny book about a subject that isn’t so funny.  The story is about Jesus and is told by his best friend, Biff.  Great, great read!

2.  Life and Times of Michael K: A Novel by J. M. Coetzee

I honestly don’t know if I could even tell you what this book was about.  It is one of those books that you need the cliff notes to.  BUT – that is what I really enjoyed about it.  It was one of our book club picks and the discussion for it was awesome.

3.  The Twilight Saga Complete Collection by Stephenie Meyer

I can hear the sighs now.  *SIGH*  LOVE these books!!  It’s romance and vampires and hot boys.  I know, I know………………..

4.  The Road (Vintage International) by Cormac McCarthy

While the book is pretty freaking depressing, it is an amazing story.  It’s the first book I read that I called “Beautiful”.  It isn’t, there is nothing pretty about it but it made me really feel for the characters.  It’s a short book (I read it in one day) but it has stayed with me.  There is a movie but I haven’t seen it yet.  Movies are never as good as the books.

5.  Black Dagger Brotherhood Series  by J. R. Ward

H-O-T!!  These books are paranormal romance and sexy.   These books have alpha males you fall in love with, strong females and a huge, detailed history.  Mrs. Ward definitely has some imagination!  Wowzers!

6.  Southern Vampire Series by Charlaine Harris

These are the True Blood Books.  While they are most definitely more grown up that the Twilight books, they are still as fun.  If you’ve seen the TV series these are based on, you will see some notable differences.  Great characters with good stories.

7.  Harry Potter Paperback Box Set (Books 1-7) by J. K. Rowling

What can I say about these books that others haven’t?  Nothing.  They are absolutely amazing books.  I don’t know it took me so long to read them but I am SO glad that I did.  My hope is that we are not done with the Potter world and J. K.  Rowling has some more in store for us.

8.  The Year of Living Biblically: One Man’s Humble Quest to Follow the Bible as Literally as Possible by A. J. Jacobs

I read about his book in a magazine and thought it had an interesting concept.  How can anyone life like that, for one year?  The author is super funny which makes the book worth a definite read. 

9.  The Know-It-All: One Man’s Humble Quest to Become the Smartest Person in the World by A. J. Jacobs

The same author as the book above, this book is about someone reading the entire encyclopedia.  A-Z.

10.  The Shack (Special Hardcover Edition) by William P. Young

I don’t know if I “got” the spiritual story that was intended from the author of this book.  I thought it was a GREAT story.  I know that some people were moved in other ways…..I wasn’t.  I would definitely recommend the book though.

11.  An Echo in the Bone: A Novel (Outlander) by Diana Gabaldon

I could go on about The Outlander series for days.  Seriously.  This is one of my top 3 favorites series, ever!  An Echo in the Bone is the latest in the story of Jamie and Claire and their family and friends.  *sigh*  While it wasn’t what I wanted it to be and it is definitely the weakest out of all the books – it is still a highlight of the year.

12.  Hunger Games Trilogy Boxset by Suzanne Collins

This series started my YA reading.  I’d heard about this series previously and had really no interest either way in it until a friend of mine said “You have to read it!”.   So I got the first book from the library….and finished it in one day.  This series is amazing!!!  You would never know it was young adult.  The characters are rich, the story is heartbreaking, funny and sweet.  If you haven’t read this yet, and you like books, get it!  Now!

13.  Life As We Knew It by Susan Beth Pfeffer

Another YA series.  I devoured the first book, constantly thinking “This could happen to us!”.  The book is about a meteor hitting the moon and pushing it closer to Earth and what would happen.  Just a really good story.  There are two other books in this series too – The Dead and Gone and This World We Live In.  Another cool thing, the author is very active with her fans.  I like that a lot.

14.  Room: A Novel by Emma Donoghue

Amazing.  Heartbreaking.  This book is another book I could not put down! 

15.  The Forest of Hands and Teeth by Carrie Ryan

This is the first book in a series (there are two other books The Dead-Tossed Waves and The Dark and Hollow Places, which was just released).  About zombies.  Great YA materiel I tell you.  But the book is fantastic.  Another one I read in one night.  I just could not put it down!  I had to know what was going to happen.  If you saw my Facebook status last night (or this morning, actually), you will see I learned a lesson about reading a scary zombie book before going to bed.  Yeah – I had just finished the last book. 

And last, but not least…

16.  Fantasy Lover by Sherrilyn Kenyon

So this is just the first book is a huge series about the Gods and Goddesses, vampires and demons.  Again with the alpha males and strong females.  And with the H-O-T!!  Yikes!!! 

I am always on the look out for amazing books.  My favorite section in magazine is the book section and I can get lost on amazon.com look at the “suggested titles”.  That is how I find a lot of books and how I keep the library list going.  Thank the good Lord for the library!

Speaking of, Sweet Valley Confidential: Ten Years Later by Francine Pascal is ready at the library and just waiting for me to pick it up.  I’ll let you know what is up with the Wakefield girls when I am done.  🙂

4 thoughts on “Don’t Judge a Book by It’s Jacket Cover…or Genre

  1. Thanks for all your suggestions, I'll be referring back to this to check them out! The only one I've read out of your list is Room, and I was blown away by that book. How a story can be horrifying and heartwarming at the same time- an amazing novel! I'm going to start keeping a list of the books I read too, great idea!

  2. @Urban – Room was so amazing I couldn't stop talking about it for days. I was obsessed with the Jaycee Dugard case when she was found and this book is very close to that case. I read that the author wrote the book before Jaycee was even found.@Shelloy – You are funny. I won't hold my breath but I still love you. 🙂

Tell me what you think!

