Day 03 – Your Parents

I’ve been avoiding this day for multiple reasons the biggest one being that I didn’t know what to write.  Don’t get me wrong, I adore my parents.  But how do I convey that properly?  How do I explain how much these people mean to me?  I’ve decided to just get to it and so, here we go……….

My Mom

4 generations – that’s my Mom on the left.  Gorgeous eh?

 My Mom is one of my best friends.  She has truly been there for me through some very rough times with a smile and a hug.  She opens her home to my children when I need her to.  She takes my daughter to Sunday School.  She comes to football games, even when it is freezing outside. She makes me laugh, she is a wonderful Grandma, she is gorgeous and she is unbelievably loving.

My Dad

He’s so hard to get a picture of.  Sneaky!  Here he is with Moo Moo a couple of years ago.

My Dad is 100% supportive of everything I do, even when my ideas are crazy and wacky.  He is supremely sarcastic but there is no doubt that he loves you.  He is a devoted Grandpa – making all of the kids’ sports games.  He’s tender when needed and playful with all his grandkids.  He took care of us when we were kids and we wanted for nothing.  I am sure that was tough on him but I never heard him complain about it. 

My parents divorced when I was about 8-ish, I think.  I’ve never heard any bad talk about each other.  They’ve stayed civil for my brother and I and now for the grandkids.  It is so nice to be able to invite both of them to one birthday party.  I know I am blessed.

In addition to my Mom and Dad, I’ve got a few other people I consider parental to me.


My step-dad, Steve

Steve – stolen from his FB page.  But it’s such a great pic!

My Step-Dad is awesome.  He’s technically not my Step-Dad any longer but you wouldn’t know it.  He still calls me his daughter, he still love my babies as much as any Grandfather and they call him Grandpa Steve.  He is invited to all birthday parties.  He is still MY family and I love him and his new wife as much as I ever could.  Also – he is an amazing photographer.  🙂

My In-laws

I want to refer to my Sister-in-laws post about my in-laws because it is wonderfully written and can tell you more about them then I ever could.  Visit her blog and read her entry HERE.

Until next time……….

One thought on “Day 03 – Your Parents

Tell me what you think!

