Mamavation Monday

Hi all!

Another Monday, another check in.  It’s been a sucky week, I will admit.  But I can’t let it get me down any longer.

Fitness:  None.  Ziltch.  I take that back, I did play on the Wii twice.  I am SO thankful that another 2 week challenge is starting up.  I seriously need to find my way back to the track. 

Nutrition:  My eating has been ok.  There have definitely been weak days.  I feel like I have done well.  I am still 90% gluten-free.  Those weak days?  Yeah, they included pizza and mini donuts (just two…but still).  My water intake has been horrid but it is getting better this weekend.   

Mental:  I feel like I haven’t been sleeping well and that in turn doesn’t help when trying to make good decisions, you know?  It also makes it very hard to even want to exercise.  Is this part of my depression?  Possibly.  Part of menopause?  Maybe.  I am ready to feel like myself again though. 

I’ve spent a good chuck of last week wondering what the hell was wrong with me.  Why is this journey so hard for me?  Why can’t I be the person who just does it??  The answer I have come up with is that everyone has their struggle.  I am no different.  I need to figure out why I want to lose weight, why I want to be healthy and I need to put that in front of my face at all times. 

So why do I want to lose weight?  What is my motivator?

My kids.  Plain and simple.  I want to live as long as I possibly and humanly can so that I can be a part of their lives.  I want to see dances, graduations, engagements, marriages, babies.  I want to know my grandchildren and even my great grandkids.  My kids need me and I need them.  That is my motivator.

I once said I fall down but I always get up.  I *always* get up.  I am determined to fight my way through this and I will never give up.  Mamavation and some wonderful friends have shown me that I don’t have to be perfect, I just need to try.

So try I will. 

BLOGGING CARNIVAL

When it comes to holiday shopping, how do you make sure you stick to your budget ?

This is an easy one for me since we live on a budget all year.  What we budget for Christmas is all we have.  Once that money is gone, it’s gone and there isn’t anything else.  So we make lists and stick to them.  We buy what is on sale and I mark up the ads every Sunday.

I gotta admit though, one time it would be fun to not have a strict budget and be able to just buy.  I’ll keep playing the lotto for that dream to come true.

This post is sponsored by Reflect It Apparel and I’m writing this to be entered into a giveaway hosted by Mamavation – a community dedicated to obesity prevention & weight loss for women.

6 thoughts on “Mamavation Monday

  1. I hear ya. what we spend is what we have. we don't have credit cards so there is no "debt" . 🙂 It is a great thing to do! I am also with ya on the lack of motivation. I want to be thin. I want more energy, I want to live to see my kids grow up and have energy to play with them. I don't want people to keep asking me if I am pregnant when I am not. but those delicious enticing foods are so hard to resist. So why can't I just be one of those people that just makes it happens and does what I need to do?!

  2. The first year we were married we made $4,000 after our rent. We were used to a different lifestyle and we spent Willy nilly until we racked up $30,000 in debt. Ouch! It took us forever to come out of it, but what a learning experience. We only buy when we know we have money and that is hard. You are totally awesome for sticking to your budget. Life is so much easier without the stress of money weighing us down.Finding a driving force to keep the motivation up and blues away has been the most difficult for me. I want to be there for my kids, but it took listing the ability to walk to make me want it. I also find that I have to constantly push myself or I become a couch potato. I love the strong conviction and drive you have.

  3. Big hugs to you! This journey is just that..it's a journey. I've never heard of a single journey worth taking that wasn't a learning experience or that didn't have bumps in the road. I believe in you. You are an awesome and amazing woman. Don't give up. We're all here for you.

  4. Ooo – put me on the list for winning the lotto too! Man that would be so nice to be able to spend without close limits! Even though last week wasn't your best, it's so important (and awesome) that you're picking yourself back up, dusting yourself off and getting back on the wagon. You can totally do this! As far as the mental part – I always feel like that when I stop exercising. It's so not cool! I hope you're feeling better this week!

Tell me what you think!

