Mamavation Monday: Realizations And A New Path

First of all – welcome to all my new subscribers and viewers.  Last week my post on Mt. St. Helens was chosen for the Freshly Pressed page on wordpress.com.  This created a lot of traffic for my little ol’ blog and I received a ton of likes, views and subscribers.  I feel very blessed to have the opportunity to now reach many more people and I hope that I can provide enough entertainment and information to keep everyone satisfied.

Anyway!  For those who are new….on Monday I dedicate my blog post to Mamavation. What the heck is Mamavation?

 Mamavation™ is also a weight loss and healthy living support group called the Mamavation Sistahood™. As the boot camp plays out, there is a real Virtual Sorority™ living within the background. The Mamavation Sistahood™ is the first sorority in social media. It was created as a place where women can create relationships with other like-minded women and support each other through challenges pertaining to healthy living. The Sistahood™ is a place women feel accepted for where they are in their journey, but they must participate weekly to stay active. They constantly support each other on twitter with the #mamavation hashtag, create weekly “check-in” posts on Mondays called Mamavation Monday and comment on each others blogs, and meet up Monday night at 10pm EST for Mamavation TV, an online live TV chat show. For more information on how to pledge to the Mamavation Sistahood go here. Pledging happens every Monday and you can jump in at any time.

The Sistahood changed my life.  I am forever thankful to Bookieboo and the other Sistas who provide me with motivation, inspiration and support through Twitter, Facebook and the Mamavation forums.

On to business……….

So last week was not my finest hour.  I had a bad weekend and then my scale showing that I had gained weight when I thought I had done well was the last straw.  So while I received a ton of support (which I am forever grateful for!!!) I wanted to apologize for that outburst.

After a Twitter therapy session with my good friend Megan (@mnmspecial who has a fantastic blog HERE) – I did some thinking about what exactly is going on with my journey.  During my campaign, I revealed a lot about myself in regards to my binge eating and my emotional eating.  Last week, I’ve also realized I am a self-sabotager.  I can’t put into words exactly why I feel the need to do that.  Maybe I don’t believe I deserve it?  I don’t know.  As a Mom, you are constantly putting people before yourself – kids, husband, house work, family.  I am the classic case of putting me last.  Do I want it to be that way?  No.  But I just don’t know how to change.

I want to set a new path for myself.  One that is going to make me successful.  I don’t wait to fail anymore.  I want to be strong and healthy for my kids and I want to be strong and healthy for myself.

My goals this week:

Take some time every day for just me.  No kids, no husband, no laundry or dishes.

That is it.  Pretty easy right??  I’ll let you know how it goes.

As for my weigh in – this what the scale looked like yesterday.

I am still up from my end of campaign weight but it is coming down.

I joined a weight loss challenge with some of my friends on Facebook.  It’s going through the summer and the aim is to lose the most weight by percentage.  There are prizes provided by the members and support, of course.  I didn’t set a weight goal, I just want to continue to lose each week.  I am not concerned with how much, exactly, I just want to stay in the negative.

So that is what is up with me.   Maybe next week I can be, I don’t know, on time with my post.  🙂

Until then…………..

8 thoughts on “Mamavation Monday: Realizations And A New Path

  1. Andrea, I’m always so impressed with your positive energy and can-do attitude. I know you’ll get right back on track. Congrats on the Freshly Pressed!!

  2. Oh honey I’m all of the above too.. These past couple of weeks have been bad for me as well. Glad that we can all keep us accountable thru the Sistahood and also show support. Congrats on getting Freshly Pressed!! That’s fantastic!!!!

    We can do this together!!

Tell me what you think!

