My Favorite Books

One thing you should know about me is that I love books.  The smell of a brand new book is in my top 5 of my most favorite things.

I definitely have favorite books and favorite authors.  I’ll read just about any genre but I love historical novels sprinkled with some romance.

So I pose this question to you……what are some of your favorite books? 

Photo credit margaretgeorge.com

Anything by Margaret George is amazing but The Autobiography of Henry VII is my favorite book.  I’ve read it multiple times and it’s no small book!

Margaret George bring us Henry VIII’s story as he himself might have told it, in memoirs interspersed with irreverent comments from his jester and confidant, Will Somers. Brilliantly combining history, wit, dramatic narrative, and an extraordinary grasp of the pleasures and perils of power, this monumental novel shows us Henry the man more vividly than he has ever been seen before.

I read this series after my son was born and I was unemployed.  I checked Outlander from the library one day on the advice of someone on a message board I belonged to.  It took me 2 days to read and I was hooked.  You completely fall in love with the characters.  Mrs. Gabaldon is an amazing writer who transports you into this world with every word.

Claire Randall is leading a double life. She has a husband in one century, and a lover in another…In 1945, Claire Randall, a former combat nurse, is back from the war and reunited with her husband on a second honeymoon—when she innocently touches a boulder in one of the ancient stone circles that dot the British Isles. Suddenly she is a Sassenach—an “outlander”—in a Scotland torn by war and raiding border clans in the year of our Lord…1743.  Hurled back in time by forces she cannot understand, Claire’s destiny in soon inextricably intertwined with Clan MacKenzie and the forbidden Castle Leoch. She is catapulted without warning into the intrigues of lairds and spies that may threaten her life …and shatter her heart. For here, James Fraser, a gallant young Scots warrior, shows her a passion so fierce and a love so absolute that Claire becomes a woman torn between fidelity and desire…and between two vastly different men in two irreconcilable lives.

There are plenty of other authors I will read religiously – Sandra Brown, Sherrilyn Kenyon, Gina Showalter, Karen Marie Moning, Julie Garwood to name just a few.  Now that I have a Kindle, it makes it a lot easier to get a book I am dying to read.  I am constantly bombarding my husband with emails that say “PLEASE!!!!  I need this book ASAP!!”.  He has yet to disappoint me.  Gotta love a man like that.

So tell me – what are you reading?  Any recommendations?  What is your #1 most favorite book ever?

Until next time…..

2 thoughts on “My Favorite Books

  1. I love The Autobiography of King Henry VIII!! I have the Outlander series but haven’t started that yet. My most favorite book of all times is The Power of One by Bryce Courtenay. Favorite author is Dostoevsky though. Have you checked out http://www.goodreads.com? I’ve started logging the books I’m reading there, and it gives you recommendations for other books you’ll like, based on your ratings. Happy reading!! 🙂

    • You’ve read Henry III?!?! Awesome!! I don’t know anyone else who has read it (except my Mom, who read it because I told her she needed to). I am on Good Reads but I never check it. I should more often.

Tell me what you think!

