The Day We Went to Coeur d’Alene, ID

My BFF, Shelloy, and I took our kids to Coeur d’Alene, ID this weekend.  It was gorgeous weather and a perfect way to end the summer.

The Coeur d’Alene area is surrounded by dozens of lakes left behind by the glaciers of the ice age. There are more than 55 lakes within easy driving distance of Coeur d’Alene, but none more scenic and full of activities than Lake Coeur d’Alene itself.

There’s something magical about Lake Coeur d’Alene that’s hard to define, but it begins with the spectacular North Idaho sunsets and moonrises, the plunge of an osprey after a fish, the glowing lights of downtown Coeur d’Alene reflecting across its waters at night.

Coeur d’Alene is a favorite day trip for many people in Spokane.  Most go over for the lake, which is gorgeous!  When I was a kid, we would go every summer for the 4th of July for the city’s firework display.  We would go in the morning and spend all day, playing in the park and swimming.   We’d bring a cooler with lunch and drinks and fall asleep on the way home.  Such good memories.

After getting some chores done (i.e. haircuts), we headed on over to the lake.  I couldn’t wait to take the kids on the Boardwalk – which is the world’s longest floating boardwalk.  Of course, there is a difference of being a kid on the boardwalk and being a parent on the boardwalk.  I am sure my kids got tired of my frantic “Watch out!”  “Be careful!”.  They still seemed to have a good time and we even got to see the seaplanes take off and land a couple of times.

After walking on the boardwalk, we headed over to the beach.  On the way, Shelloy decided she wanted to take one of the lake cruises.  So off we went!  All of the kids loved it!!  I loved it and I am pretty sure Shelloy loved it!  During the trip, there was a recording of the history of the area and about the places we were passing by.  And the lake houses were gorgeous!!!!  I know where I am going to live when I win the lottery.

After the cruise, we headed back over to the beach.  Moo Moo was excited to put her feet in the water and Booby Boo learned how to skip rocks.  The sun was starting to set by this time and I got some beautiful pictures.  But the sun setting was a sign that it was time to go home.

It was a fitting end to the day and a perfect way to spend a Saturday afternoon.

I can’t wait to do it again!

Is there a place where you live that you like to spend time?

2 thoughts on “The Day We Went to Coeur d’Alene, ID

Tell me what you think!

